Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) edges ahead of Currents API (3.3/5) overall. Guardian Open Platform is the better choice for students and researchers needing free full-text articles. Currents API is the stronger option for coursework and hackathons needing a free feed. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1821 | 2018 |
| HQ | London, UK | Not publicly disclosed |
| Team size | 1,000+ (Guardian Media Group) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Rating | 3.8 / 5 | 3.3 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags | A free tier that tutorials and roundups often recommend |
| Pricing model | Free developer key; commercial licence on request | Free tier; monthly plans |
| Entry price | Free | $69/mo (third-party listing) |
| Formats & SDKs | REST API, JSON | REST API, JSON |
| Typical uses | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps | News & content apps, Research & academia |
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: overview
Guardian Open Platform
The Guardian's Open Platform exposes the same content API that powers the Guardian's websites and apps. A free developer key returns full article bodies with tags and sections back to 1999, and commonly reported limits are about 5,000 calls a day and 12 a second. The key is for non-commercial projects; commercial use needs a deal with Guardian News & Media. Developers like it for teaching because the tagging is consistent and the responses are predictable, which makes it a good dataset for NLP exercises. The obvious limit is that every article comes from one newspaper.
Currents API
Currents API has run since about 2018 with latest-news and search endpoints filtered by language, region and category. Developer roundups often point beginners to its free tier, but they quote the limit as 600 requests a day, 600 a month or 250 a day depending on the article, and the free plan returns latest news only, with no historical search or commercial use. One report lists paid plans from $69 a month for 75,000 requests (independently unverifiable). The operator, location and team are not published.
Features: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Capability | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Full article text | ✓ | ✗ |
| Historical archive | ✓ | ✗ |
| NLP enrichment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Story/event clustering | ✗ | ✗ |
| Official SDK | ✗ | ✗ |
| Streaming or webhooks | ✗ | ✗ |
| Free access | ✓ | ✓ |
Formats and SDKs: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Format / SDK | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| REST API | ✓ | ✓ |
| Python SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Node.js SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Webhooks | N/A | N/A |
| WebSocket | N/A | N/A |
| MCP server | N/A | N/A |
| S3/bulk delivery | N/A | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Criterion | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Free | $69/mo (third-party listing) |
| Pricing model | Free developer key; commercial licence on request | Free tier; monthly plans |
| Access models | Free tier, Enterprise contract | Free tier, Monthly plans |
| Price transparency | Public price | Public price |
| Price tier | Free | Budget |
Who each API suits: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Dimension | Guardian Open Platform | Currents API |
|---|---|---|
| Buyer type | Individuals to enterprise | Individuals to enterprise |
| Typical uses | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps | News & content apps, Research & academia |
| Example use cases | NLP coursework with real articles. Coverage studies of UK and world news over time. | Class assignments. Hackathon news features. |
| How you get access | Free tier | Free tier |
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API: pros and cons
| Guardian Open Platform | |
|---|---|
| + | Full text at no cost |
| + | Clean tags and sections for filtering |
| + | More than 25 years of archive |
| + | Stable, well-documented, used in production by the Guardian itself |
| - | One publisher and one editorial voice |
| - | Commercial projects must negotiate a licence |
| Currents API | |
|---|---|
| + | Free key is quick to obtain |
| + | Two simple endpoints |
| + | Several languages and regions |
| - | Quoted free limits disagree |
| - | Free plan has no history and bars commercial use |
| - | No identifiable operator or support terms |
Who should choose Guardian Open Platform?
A typical fit: NLP coursework with real articles.
Free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags. Paid access starts at Free. Typical uses: Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps.
Who should choose Currents API?
A typical fit: class assignments.
A free tier that tutorials and roundups often recommend. Paid access starts at $69/mo (third-party listing). Typical uses: News & content apps, Research & academia.
Decision matrix: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want to start free before paying | Both |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need full article text in the response | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need years of historical news | Guardian Open Platform |
| You want an official SDK | Neither; both are plain REST |
| You are wiring news into an LLM agent | Both work through plain REST calls |
Use case fit: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
| Use case | Guardian Open Platform fit | Currents API fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research & academia | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| News & content apps | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| AI & LLM apps | Strong | Limited | Guardian Open Platform |
Verdict: Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags.
Currents API (3.3/5) is worth a look if you need hackathon news features. If your situation matches that, Currents API is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Guardian Open Platform vs Currents API FAQ
Is Guardian Open Platform better than Currents API?
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Guardian Open Platform's strongest advantage: full text at no cost. Currents API's strongest advantage: free key is quick to obtain.
How do Guardian Open Platform and Currents API differ in pricing?
Guardian Open Platform: free developer key; commercial licence on request, with paid access from Free. Currents API: free tier; monthly plans, with paid access from $69/mo (third-party listing). Both offer some free access for testing.
Which is better for enterprise: Guardian Open Platform or Currents API?
Guardian Open Platform sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Neither carries licensed publisher content, so check copyright terms before republishing anything.
What are the main differences between Guardian Open Platform and Currents API?
What sets Guardian Open Platform apart: free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags. What sets Currents API apart: a free tier that tutorials and roundups often recommend. They also differ on entry price (Free vs $69/mo (third-party listing)) and typical uses (Research & academia, News & content apps vs News & content apps, Research & academia).
Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.