Best News API for Developers

GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

GNews (4.3/5) edges ahead of Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) overall. GNews is the better choice for small commercial apps needing a cheap, simple news feed. Guardian Open Platform is the stronger option for students and researchers needing free full-text articles. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.

GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: head-to-head summary

Criterion GNews Guardian Open Platform
Founded Not disclosed 1821
HQ Not publicly disclosed London, UK
Team size Not publicly disclosed 1,000+ (Guardian Media Group)
Rating 4.3 / 5 3.8 / 5
Primary differentiator Commercial rights and full article content for under €50 a month Free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags
Pricing model Monthly or yearly plans in euros Free developer key; commercial licence on request
Entry price €49.99/mo Free
Formats & SDKs REST API, JSON REST API, JSON
Typical uses News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps

GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: overview

GNews

GNews keeps its surface small: one search endpoint, one top-headlines endpoint, and filters for country, language and category. That small surface is why developers like it, because the docs fit on one page and a working call takes a few minutes. The free tier allows 100 requests a day for non-commercial work with 30 days of history. Essential, at €49.99 a month, adds commercial rights, 1,000 requests a day and articles back to 2020, while Business and Enterprise raise the daily quota to 5,000 and 25,000. The weak spot is the company itself. The site credits a studio called Gigathink and gives only a contact email, so its size, founding year and support capacity are unknown.

Guardian Open Platform

The Guardian's Open Platform exposes the same content API that powers the Guardian's websites and apps. A free developer key returns full article bodies with tags and sections back to 1999, and commonly reported limits are about 5,000 calls a day and 12 a second. The key is for non-commercial projects; commercial use needs a deal with Guardian News & Media. Developers like it for teaching because the tagging is consistent and the responses are predictable, which makes it a good dataset for NLP exercises. The obvious limit is that every article comes from one newspaper.

Features: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Capability GNews Guardian Open Platform
Full article text ✓ ✓
Historical archive ✓ ✓
NLP enrichment ✗ ✗
Story/event clustering ✗ ✗
Official SDK ✗ ✗
Streaming or webhooks ✗ ✗
Free access ✓ ✓

Formats and SDKs: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Format / SDK GNews Guardian Open Platform
REST API ✓ ✓
Python SDK N/A N/A
Node.js SDK N/A N/A
Webhooks N/A N/A
WebSocket N/A N/A
MCP server N/A N/A
S3/bulk delivery N/A N/A
BigQuery N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Criterion GNews Guardian Open Platform
Entry price €49.99/mo Free
Pricing model Monthly or yearly plans in euros Free developer key; commercial licence on request
Access models Free tier, Monthly plans Free tier, Enterprise contract
Price transparency Public price Public price
Price tier Budget Free

Who each API suits: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Dimension GNews Guardian Open Platform
Buyer type Individuals to enterprise Individuals to enterprise
Typical uses News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps
Example use cases A news section in a small SaaS product. Headline widgets filtered by country. NLP coursework with real articles. Coverage studies of UK and world news over time.
How you get access Free tier Free tier

GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: pros and cons

GNews
+ The whole API can be learned in one sitting
+ One of the cheapest routes to commercial use, and yearly billing takes about 20% off
+ Paid plans return full article content
+ Up to 100 articles per request on the top tier
- Nothing before 2020
- No entity, sentiment or clustering fields
- An unnamed operator makes support and continuity hard to judge
Guardian Open Platform
+ Full text at no cost
+ Clean tags and sections for filtering
+ More than 25 years of archive
+ Stable, well-documented, used in production by the Guardian itself
- One publisher and one editorial voice
- Commercial projects must negotiate a licence

Who should choose GNews?

A typical fit: a news section in a small SaaS product.

Commercial rights and full article content for under €50 a month. Paid access starts at €49.99/mo. Typical uses: News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR.

Who should choose Guardian Open Platform?

A typical fit: NLP coursework with real articles.

Free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags. Paid access starts at Free. Typical uses: Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps.

Decision matrix: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Your situation Recommended choice
You want to start free before paying Both
Your budget is at the lower end Guardian Open Platform
You need full article text in the response Both
You need years of historical news Both
You want an official SDK Neither; both are plain REST
You are wiring news into an LLM agent Both work through plain REST calls

Use case fit: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

Use case GNews fit Guardian Open Platform fit Winner
News & content apps Strong Strong Both equally
AI & LLM apps Strong Strong Both equally
Marketing & PR Strong Limited GNews
Research & academia Limited Strong Guardian Open Platform

Verdict: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform

GNews (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Commercial rights and full article content for under €50 a month.

Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need coverage studies of UK and world news over time. If your situation matches that, Guardian Open Platform is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

GNews vs Guardian Open Platform FAQ

Is GNews better than Guardian Open Platform?

GNews (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. GNews's strongest advantage: the whole API can be learned in one sitting. Guardian Open Platform's strongest advantage: full text at no cost.

How do GNews and Guardian Open Platform differ in pricing?

GNews: monthly or yearly plans in euros, with paid access from €49.99/mo. Guardian Open Platform: free developer key; commercial licence on request, with paid access from Free. Both offer some free access for testing.

Which is better for enterprise: GNews or Guardian Open Platform?

Guardian Open Platform sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Neither carries licensed publisher content, so check copyright terms before republishing anything.

What are the main differences between GNews and Guardian Open Platform?

What sets GNews apart: commercial rights and full article content for under €50 a month. What sets Guardian Open Platform apart: free full article bodies from a major newspaper, with editorial tags. They also differ on entry price (€49.99/mo vs Free) and typical uses (News & content apps, AI & LLM apps vs Research & academia, News & content apps).

Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.